Competitor Games

We are the Competition

Campaign Setting & Mechanics

A forum for discussing game design in general; the hows and whys, rather than posting actual homebrew.

Campaign Setting & Mechanics

Postby Thinker » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:44 am

I have been working for several months now on a large-scale campaign setting and now that I have most of that content completed, I am hitting a stumbling block with mechanics. On the one hand I could spend a long time creating mechanics that would likely be duplicative with other RPG systems, but on the other I have a larger degree of flexibility with my own mechanics. I already have a few base mechanics together, but I'm not entirely satisfied with them. The other issue is that I've considered attempting to get this setting published and might run into copyright issues if I were to use another system. Now I'm looking around to see if there are a set of mechanics that can work for this setting and are publishable under various licenses.

The mechanics of such a system need to support a few things:
  • Magic that is ubiquitous throughout the world. Basically the answer to most questions without an easy explanation is "magic". This means that a spell like detect magic would always find that everything is magical and an anti-magic field may as well be tearing a hole in reality.
  • Magic that is somewhat open-ended. In folktales, those who use magic and can create a fireball can also do any number of other things with fire, not simply that one thing. In this vein, I would like some sort of component-style casting to create more of an open-ended feel. Something like starting with the right focus (a piece of flint for fire), creating a flame and then doing anything the caster would like with that flame.